MinuteGamer BLOG

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Announce: Return to Mysterious Island available on Big Fish Games!

with 2 comments

All the adventure games I’ve seen on BFG before were older ones or simpler ones like the Nancy Drew series; so when I logged on this morning and saw Return to Mysterious Island, I was quite pleasantly surprised.

I picked this one off the shelf when it was new, and it was definitely a pretty good adventure game. It had great puzzles, a unique inventory system (which is used in all the newer games by the same developer), a survival meter which isn’t often seen in adventure games, and a lot of great puzzles. There are multiple ways to solve puzzles, which is definitely a plus.

It’s a bit short, and the story a bit sparse, but definitely a lot here to keep an adventure gamer occupied. If you’re a Gameclub member, this game’s a must buy!

Written by Sally

August 26, 2007 at 10:06 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. First, love this site. Thanks for all of your hard work. I’m an amateur gamer and these types of games are right up my alley.

    For RtoMI though, I can’t for the life of me, figure out how to use the objects. ie, how do I use a coconut to smash the crabs, or how do I open an egg to eat it? What am I missing?

    thanks.

    Heather

    August 27, 2007 at 7:47 am

  2. I didn’t categorize this under “casual” games because it falls more into the adventure gamer category.

    Eggs, I believe you can just eat on their own, but they are pretty nice if you cook them first.

    As for “how to use” an item, RtMi uses a new inventory system that I haven’t seen before. You have to put inventory items in a “preparation area” in the middle of the inventory, and it’ll show “?” when it’s missing something. Once you figure out what’s missing, you can drag those into the ? signs, and it’ll produce an “end product” that you can use.

    If you need extensive help, there is a walkthrough over at Gameboomers.com

    Sally

    August 27, 2007 at 11:26 am


Leave a comment